• January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Twitting From the Inside of Iron Shell

    • @ASUS How long does it take to replace a broken Video Card? Sent an RMA for GTX1070 16 days ago still no response! 4 months ago
    • UPS lost my package with 32GB HP Touchpad ordered from bestbuy.com on last minute fire sale. AARGH! 6 years ago
    • Just Pre Registered for Otacon 2011! C U in Baltimore. 6 years ago
    • Passing through Philly on the way back from a business trip. Having a Philly cheese steak at a local diner. 7 years ago
    • Hokkaido fair at Mitsuwa supermarket. Having a great miso ramen. 7 years ago
  • RSS dannychoo.com

    • Da Balcony At Comic Fiesta
      I’m either at my booth or Da Balcony at Comic Fiesta. マレーシアCF会場内のここら辺にいます。 http://comicfiesta.org/2017/ https://www.instagram.com/p/BcwaY9LBkST/
    • Comic Fiesta At KLCC
      Comic Fiesta at KLCC - these photos show less than 20 of the whole event space - a tong of ACG goodies and events await you. マレーシアCFでっっっっっっっかい。#smartdoll http://comicfiesta.org/2017/ https://www.instagram.com/p/BcwaMk-B8wR/
    • Thanks For Coming Along
      Thanks for coming along to my talk today at Comic Fiesta- remember that it’s important to know that we live in the matrix but we don’t need to be part of it. マレーシアCF講演の様子。 http://comicfiesta.org/2017/ https://www.instagram.com/p/BcwZwSOhtg0/
    • Stage Standby
      Stage standby. ステージスタンバイ。#cf2017 http://comicfiesta.org/2017/ https://www.instagram.com/p/BcwHKfIhpHt/
    • Comic Fiesta This Weekend
      See you on stage in 30 mins. Comic Fiesta this weekend at KLCC. マレーシアCF。講演30分前。 http://comicfiesta.org/2017/ https://www.instagram.com/p/BcwGjh5Bs46/
  • View from the ocular.

+1 armor unit and more to come. Garance figure review.

Well, it’s been quite a while since I posted something substantial in my blog, been quite wrapped up in stuff lately. But, nevertheless…
Against all odds I successfully finished my first fully painted Gundam. RX-78/C.A. it is. Can`t say it turned out great, but you know the proverb: “Things don’t work the first time”, and they certainly did not. My first and major mistake was not to primer the kit and spray acrylic paint straight on the plastic, to say the least, it was a disaster. Paint scraped off real easy, leaving bare plastic underneath. With a twitch of a thumbnail I`ve been left with a ruined part. Read an article that suggested to leave acrylic paint to dry for at least a weak. A weak! That statement startled me.
Wrapped up the kit with lots of clear coat, which seems to strengthen the paint, preventing it from scraping off. On my next kit – Zaku Minelayer I used plain Rust-Oleum automotive plastic primer, which worked out perfectly, stinks like hell, though. It coats a little bit thick, I might say, but acceptable.

RX-78_C.A.
RX-78 before painting, and after.

January_10_Update_01

January_10_Update_02

January_10_Update_03
I stepped aside from suggested paint theme not only because I cant really figure out how to mix colors to achieve desired tinge, but I just wanted to have a RED Gundam in my possession.

January_10_Update_04

January_10_Update_05
Posing and photography skills require some work, indeed.

January_10_Update_06
My last acquisitions: 1/60 non-grade Gundam Exia, wanna try myself on a bigger models before going into PG, and so very much adorable figurine of Garance as portrayed in “Colors” doujin(s) by Kitutehu Vignette, (please, fix me if I’m wrong).

January_10_Update_07
First time looking at this figurine I liked it so very much…

January_10_Update_08
If you think about it, this figurine encompasses most of Japanese indigenous and “moe” culture, presented to the outsiders….

January_10_Update_09
Here we have a gates to a Shinto shrine – “torii”.

January_10_Update_10
Recognizable flag/banner – “nobori”

January_10_Update_12
A mail box, immediately reminded me of an anime series – “Myself, Yourself.” Episode 8: when Sane finds dozens of letters from Nanaki: “TASUKETE! TASUKETE! TASUKETE! / Save me! Save me! Save me!” heart throbbing it was, indeed.

January_10_Update_15
“Kitsune/fox” mask, immediately reminds me of Rika-chan from “Higurashi no naku koro ni / When they cry”.

January_10_Update_18
Stop sign and vine’s branch, don’t ring a bell, as well as fire extinguisher. Reckon they are all the same all over the world – red and cylindrical. That round red thing with a mustache I’m not familiar with, too.

January_10_Update_13

January_10_Update_16

January_10_Update_17
Now to the “moe” stuff. First of all Garance herself – typical “loli”, and her eyes, love ’em…

January_10_Update_14
Red school bag – “randoseru”, memories of “Kodomo no Jikan / Child’s Time” pop right out.

January_10_Update_19
Figurine came with a small booklet.

January_10_Update_20
Pity that I can’t read any of it. Still, I can very much enjoy the art.

Leave a Reply

