• August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul    
  • Twitting From the Inside of Iron Shell

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • RSS dannychoo.com

    • AFA 2015
      Had an awesome day 1 at AFA and looking forward to another great day 2. I'm going to leave you with a wall of photos as I need to prep for tomorrow. See you at my booth (right in front of the entrance) or on stage ^o^
    • 3D Printed Glasses
      Mirai and I with our newly printed 3D glasses - a pair look for humans and Smart Dolls. There are a few reasons why I decided to start making glasses. 1. I had to make glasses for my Smart Dolls so thought it would make sense to start off with human size and scale down removing what was not necessary for the 1/3 scale Smart Doll. 2. I was fed up of the lack […]
    • AFA 2015 Merhandise
      Update: added photos of the booth, hall and some around Singapore too. Its that time of year again folks - Anime Festival Asia in Singapore. I'm off this week to the Mer-land where I will be MC'ing and cleaning toilets as usual. Just a few notes before I go into merchandise details. #I can't bring Chitose Smart Doll with me - she is the only p […]
    • DIY Standing Desk
      For the past 6 weeks or so I've been working at my standing desk. Today I'm going to go over how I DIY'ed it for about 8000 yen (about 65 USD at today's rate) using table tops from IKEA and a bunch of cardboard boxes and also talk about why on earth I would want to stand all day working on a computer.As some of you may know, I have an ill […]
    • Eiji Seiun Mold 2 Faceup Tests
      スマートドール星雲永時最終メークに近い。目のデザインとウィグはちょいちょい変わります。12月24日発売を目指しています。通販でも、五反田ストアででもお迎えできます。Twitterの@mirairoboticsをフォローしていただければいち早くGETできます。弊社は限定商法はやりません。永時くんは僕が生きる限りにはいつでも生産しています。予定価格は6万円。 よろしくお願いします! The latest and greatest faceup design for Eiji Seiun - I like this one the best. The wig is near final and so is the eye design. Whats eft to be done is:- #shoe lasts […]
  • View from the ocular.




    More Photos

Otakon 2010. Baka to Photos to Anime. part 1

My second venture to Baltimore for the largest anime convention on East coast. Was waiting for it, and unlike last tear booked my ticket about two month in advance, thus sparing myself from 2 and a half hours queuing under the blazing sun.
This time just walked into the main entrance and grabbed that badge.

And so it went, three days non-stop fun.
Like I was mentioning in my older posts I’m very much into photography. Not professional at all, but rather just for fun.
Enjoy… Otacon 2010 from the inside of the iron shell.



Somewhere on the street: Homies will soon realize that these chicks shouldn’t be picked on.

Byson – epic.


Game room.


Leeloo take one.

And take two.

Hetalia, plenty of it.

Great One Piece cosplay.

Purinni to Raspberyll, kawaii!!!

Saishuu Heiki Kanojo – My Girfriend is a Prfect Weapon. See this cosplay for the second time, awesome!




Yotsuba! Utterly amazing!


Now moving to the Dealer’s Room.
First to spot is one of the largest booths out there – Aniplex. with huge flat screen rolling K-On! and Suzumiya Haruhi no Chokuretsu, Gurren Lagan the movie and other titles.
Now i have to pause here and go over my ravings against Animeplex’s releases and dubbed anime all together.
Passing by their booth I almost had a stroke listening to the lines from Suzumiya Haruhi no Chokuretsu, yes they were dubbed and they were absolutely and utterly atrocious, horrid, despicably mutilated and plainly repulsive.
Can’t deny that English language speakers shall never be able to reproduce intonation, tone and force of native Japanese dialogues.
In my opinion, if one can’t so why even try.
Second hart attack happened two days later. Sunday I was again passing by their booth, when I saw a crowd around that exact booth.
As it turned out to be – some blokes were doing Hare Hare Yukai dance. Guess what, the song was dubbed as well!!! Come on! Now I feel like I just gulped a giant steamy “Cup of Rage”. People this is even worse than plain dub! Instead of Aya Hirano’s “yume, yume – suki deshou”, speakers were blasting “dreams, dreams – suki deshou” with southern accent!
That was it. I had had it. Quickly snapped a picture and swiftly retreated suppressing a heavy urge to vomit.

One and only worthy Bakemonogatari cosplay that I spotted.

Hanekawa Tsubasa \ Swarineko. Great cosplay. love it.

Plenty of Pedobears this year, this one got PWND.

Our very own, American Itabasu.
To clarify Itabasu – is a notion describing anime-themed exterior of a bus. Essentially a derivation from Japanese “itasha” (Jap. Romaji) which literally means painmobile – an anime themed car. Peculiar fact: first syllable “ita” <- "itai" – painful.



Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, as ever popular.



Saber, my admirations are true.


4 Responses

  1. great pics! wow! you took pics from the very begining of the convention cool! XD! :D
    this time you are totally ahead of the curve with getting the con-ticket! :D

  2. I really like the pic of angemon digimon! awesome! this was the first I ever seem someone cosplay that!

  3. Of course, people can’t emulate Japanese accent unless they immerse themselves in Japan for many years.

    But can you really blame them just for translating something to English? It’s THEIR preferences. Not yours. Everyone takes their slice of pie differently.

    • Yes, I can! Those blokes have to take the blame for it in full. It’s not like I negate English dub entirely, Gundam 00 was dubbed pretty nicely. I have to state it once again, dub of Haruhi Suzumiya no Chokuretsu is absolutely and utterly horrid!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

